I’m tiny… you’re humongous

Standard

This morning I was dressing Holland for church and she looks at me and says, “Mommy, I’m tiny and you are humongous.” I would have been offended had this not been coming from a two year old, but I laughed and said, “that’s right sweetie.”

Her statement got me thinking… she thinks she is tiny because she is, first of all and because she is a small child. She thinks I am big (I am not going to use the word humongous because I am still a little offended :)) because I am not only bigger than her in size, I am her authority.

What struck me by her statement most of all, however, is not what she said but the way she said it. She came up to me, nuzzled in my arms and said those words to me as if she were longing for me to pick her up and cradle her and let her know that I was going to protect her. I picked up on this cue and I picked up my baby girl, nuzzled her in my arms and said, “I am bigger than you, my precious girl, I love you and I will protect you.” She let me hold her for a moment, kissed me and hopped down and started playing again.

She wanted reassurance that I was not only able to protect her, but that I was willing as well.

As I sat watching her play I thought about my relationship with God. How I am tiny and He is humongous. He is not only able to protect and love me, He is willing to as well.

Ephesians 6:10-11

“Finally, be strong in the Lord and in His mighty power. Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.”

God is able to protect us from anything, but we must be willing to trust that He is able and stand firmly in His word.

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

Leave a Reply

