A person’s a person no matter…

Standard

Dr. Seuss is one of my all time favorite authors. I don’t care how many books by famous theologians I read, I always come back to the simple child-like truths expressed in his books.

The other day I was reading “Horton Hears a Who” by Dr. Seuss to Holland. In short, the book is about an elephant, Horton, who hears a whole city on a speck of dust and sets out to save them. The other creatures in his jungle think he is crazy and try and destroy the speck because they cannot see or hear the people living there. But, Horton continues to insist throughout the book, “a person’s a person, no matter how small,” he listens to them and makes it his mission to protect them.

Holland loves saying, “a person’s a person no matter how small,” and every time we reach that phrase we say it in unison.

The thing that strikes me about the Who’s is that they are not only small, they do not have a voice. They are not being heard.

What is comforting to me is that no matter how small we feel on this earth or how many injustices we encounter or how many times we feel as if our voice is being silenced: God is listening, he cares and he is there to protect us.

When I read that book I am reminded of Psalm 139:13-16

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”

God knows us from before the moment of conception and He stays with us throughout our lives… we are all precious to Him: born and unborn, poor and wealthy, disabled and able bodied, high IQ or low IQ, no matter your race, ethnicity, hair color, weight… you are precious to God.

A person is a person no matter.

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

Leave a Reply

