Exhaustion

Standard

I have strange children in some ways. My daughter has always been happy to go to bed. She is almost three and she will tell me, “I am tired now, I need to go to bed.” And I take her to bed and she thanks me. My nine month old is the same way, with the exception of the full sentence request. He loves to sleep and will give me all the cues that he is tired. I lay him down and he goes to sleep.

I think that most adults have yet to learn the lesson that my nine month old and two year old have already learned. God wants us to rest.

How often do I work and work to the point of being physically, emotionally and spiritually exhausted? How often do I neglect playing with my children and my time with the Lord because of the laundry, bills, housework and everything else that is necessary but not urgent.

Matthew 11:28 says, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” Jesus didn’t just mean physical rest, he was talking about the kind of rest that can only come from Him. The kind of rest our soul longs for.

God rested…

Genesis 2:2 “By the seventh day God had finished the work he had been doing; so on the seventh day he rested from all His work. Then God blessed the seventh day and made it holy, because on it He rested from all of the work of creating that He had done.”

He took a sabbath and rested. Not only did He rest, he made the day of rest holy. He made it very clear that we must rest in Him, that we must take a break from our work to reconnect with our family, our friends and most importantly God.

As many excuses as I like to make for why I cannot take a break or why I do not make time for the Lord I need to remember… God took a rest.

So why do I think I can survive without one?

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

Leave a Reply

