Guilt…

Standard

It is so difficult to be a mother… especially in today’s society. There are so many books, blogs, websites, television shows etc… that give advice on how to raise your children. There is a new study every day that says this or that will do irreparable damage to your child. Keeping up with all of it is exhausting and gilt-inducing.

It is important for me to remember that I will not always do everything perfectly. Sometimes my children will eat something off the floor, or pee at the park before I can stop them from pulling down their pants in front of EVERYONE.

The important thing to remember when I feel that mommy guilt is to look to Jesus. He reminds me in Romans 8:1-3 “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death. For what the law was powerless to do because it was weakened by the flesh, God did by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh to be a sin offering.”

Christ came for me… to be a sin offering for me… to set me free from the law of sin and death. When I am feeling as if I do not measure-up I look to the Truth of God’s word.

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

2 responses »

  1. Since I’m currently working on my anxiety, the thought that came to me the other day was, “Martha, Martha, thou art troubled about many things but only one thing is needful and Mary hath chosen that good part.” For some reason thinking that only thing I need to worry about is God and my relationship to Him calms me down. I’ve also been focusing on not doubting my own mothering and not guilting myself. It’s made me think that I show faith in Christ by not doubting myself, that He’ll show me what I need to do better and when He does it’s always with an enlightenment and greater peace, as opposed to my own/the adversary’s darkness and anxieties. Everything really does take you back to God, as I think this life is supposed to keep pointing us towards Him.

    Okay, thanks for letting me comment, Dana!

Leave a Reply

