Day One: 31 Days of Releasing Control

Standard

I have a type A personality. I like to know that there is a place for everything, order, consistency and a plan. I am clean, neat, organized, controlling and reliable. So, when God lead my family to a place of uncertainty in our living situation and my husband’s career it was anything but comfortable for me.

I learned about the “31 days of…” series from Emily and decided that I was going to use that opportunity to make my pseudo blog public. I have infrequently posted for the last few months but I had a perfect idea about a series I wanted to write about and wanted to take advantage of this opportunity.

CONTROL is defined (by dictionary.com) as:
verb
to exercise restraint or direction over; to dominate; command.
to hold in check; curb: to control a horse; to control one’s emotions
to test or verify (a scientific experiment) by a parallel experiment or other standard of comparison
to eliminate or prevent the flourishing or spread of: to control a forest fire

My life, as of right now, has been turned upside down and God has been teaching me A LOT about releasing control. I don’t know if anyone will read this but it will be good for me either way to reflect on what I have been taught during this season of my life. God has provided beyond my expectations but first I had to release everything to Him. It is so scary to release control; especially for someone who is type A. But, God provides and ultimately knows what is best for me.

These two verses have been incredibly reassuring and comforting during this season of learning release.

Matthew 6:26
Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?
Jeremiah 29:11
For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

One response »

  1. This is a great idea, Dana! And I’ve never read the different translation of the Bible besides KJV, so that’s interesting to read too.

Leave a Reply

