Day Two: Releasing control in the unexpected

Standard

In May of 2009 my husband lost his job. I was a stay at home mom so this left us with no source of income in an economic downturn… a very scary place to be.

I was looking through some of my journals from that time in life and I kept on coming back to the Truth of God’s word that He has a plan for everything… that was a consistent theme in my study of His word. However, my behavior reflected the idea that I was in control. I was rushing around trying to fix everything, trying to push Dave into different jobs, trying to control our situation.

God ended up providing and giving Dave an opportunity with Chick fil A as a manager in hopes of becoming an owner/operator someday. We moved in with my parents and started on a journey in which we had little to no control.

Dave was working in a job where his advancement was completely dependent on someone else. I was living in my mother’s house. We found out we were pregnant a few weeks after moving in and in the midst of all of this God was teaching me to release…. He was and is in control. 

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

Leave a Reply

