Day Three: Releasing control in the mess

Standard

The other day I let my daughter have quiet time instead of nap time. Mostly I make sure she stays in her room, but today she came and told me she was going potty, and I was busy so I said okay.
Ten minutes later I realized I hadn’t seen her or heard her go back into her room… so I went looking and this is what I found:

It was a mess. She had emptied out two tubes of toothpaste, had water all over the floor and was attempting to clean it up with a hand towel.

I could have gotten upset, I could have yelled at her, but I laughed and went to get my camera. I have to remember that daily God gives me opportunities to release control or to cling to it. A clean house is something I like to control; but even through the mess God is teaching me how little control I really have.

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

One response »

  1. I was just thinking this morning about how being a good, relaxed mom means letting messes happen without getting upset. I wondered if this was true and now it reinforces it. Thanks again Dana!

Leave a Reply

