Day Five: Releasing control with the crazy

Standard

I would like for people to think my children are well behaved. “Think” is the key word there because my children don’t even try to hide their gross imperfections.

Probably the best story I can think to illustrate this is the day my daughter pooped in front of church.

Yes… that is right… I remember it vividly. We were standing outside of church in the parking lot talking to some friends. Holland was playing in the mulch by the benches beside the walkway inside when she yelled to us, “I need to potty!” I asked her to wait a few more minutes while we finished our conversation… big mistake.

I glanced over as my conversation was winding down and there was Holland, pants around her legs not only peeing… she was pooping. She was in the middle of the natural area beside the path that lead from the parking lot to the front door of the church squatting for all to see!!

Yes… mortified… that was me. But, I got a wipe out of Hudson’s bag, picked up the poop, wiped off my daughter and headed into church.

The more I attempt to control my situation or the people around me I think that God gives me reminders like this one. I couldn’t control what Holland was doing in the middle of her going to the bathroom. I couldn’t control what people walking into church were thinking of me. But, I can admit that I am an imperfect person who needs to release those things to the Lord.

God finds funny ways to teach me that… He certainly has a sense of humor.

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

One response »

  1. OH MY GOODNESS. I don’t know whether to laugh or cry!!! Bless your heart (as we say here in the south) 🙂 I love your attitude about the whole event though 🙂

    I blog at “Only a Breath” and would love for you to stop by if you have time! I’m writing about “31 Days to Love Your Neighbor”. It has been a very interesting journey to say the least! 🙂

    Have a great day!
    Melanie

Leave a Reply

