Day Six: Releasing control in what is best…

Standard

Sometimes I save old voicemail messages if they are really good. I also leave my husband voicemails occasionally when the kids are doing funny things and I want to tell him about them right then. About a year and 1/2 ago my daughter was just getting into watching television and was honestly starting to become addicted. We limited her television time but that did not prevent her from begging to watch TV.

One day she said, “we watch Geoge (Curious George, as a translation) mama” and I told her no. She grabbed my face and said, “we watch Geoge” again and as I opened my mouth to say no she burst out, “and you can’t say no, no, no, no, no.” It sounded more like noanoanoanoanoa. It was hillarious. I called my husband and I teased her for a while, getting her to ask me the question and saying no just so she would tell me I can’t say no.

Over a year has passed and my husband had me listen to that voicemail yesterday. It was precious and hysterical to hear her small voice and her stubborn words. Obviously, watching too much television is not in the best interest of a 22 month old, but she did not understand that, all she could comprehend was that we were keeping her from something she really enjoyed. Holland did not have the full picture. Holland does not know the research about children watching too much television and the effects it can have on the brain.

Listening to that precious little girl got me thinking… How often do I fight with God when He has my best interest in mind. How often do I jump in and seize control when He is not doing things the way I want them done. How often do I tell God, “you can’t say no, no, no, no, no.”

I am sure that God finds my attempt to control just as amusing as I found Holland’s. God has infinite knowledge, mine is finite. He has the full picture, I have a small pixel. He is no more trying to deprive me of something that I enjoy any more than I am trying to deprive Holland… It is just that He knows what I need more than I do.

Job 37:15-16

“Do you know how God controls the clouds and makes His lightning flash? Do you know how the clouds hang poised, those wonders of Him who has perfect knowledge.”

God created the clouds, He created the whole universe and has perfect knowledge. How much simpler would my life be if I embraced this Truth?

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

4 responses »

  1. I love the idea of only having a pixel of God’s full picture. It puts into nice perspective. Thanks Dana for sharing your thoughts.

  2. Thanks for telling me about your blog, Dana! This is soo true, I always need a sign to remind me not to counsel God, but to accept counsel from Him instead. It’s hard to remember, but this reminds me of it again.

    • Thank you for reading Susie… I was kind of scared to open myself and my thoughts to others like this but I felt like God wanted me to share what I was learning… especially in this season of life.
      I am really glad you are reading… I would love to continue hearing your thoughts too!

Leave a Reply

