Day Ten: Releasing control in the obvious

Standard

“Which hand mama??” Holland enthusiastically asked me to choose where the marker cap was located: left or right. The cap was sticking out of her right hand, so I of course chose the left. 🙂 She smiled and held out her empty hand for me to see that I had guessed incorrectly. She loves that game.

After she put the marker cap down and ran to play I was thinking about how often I know God’s will and I choose to follow my own path instead. My youth pastor growing up used to say that God’s will is not a mysterious, cosmic question mark. God’s will is laid out for us in his word… He wants us to obey His commands and He will bless that. But, I hem and haw over decisions when God, a lot of times, has made the choice as obvious as a marker cap sticking out of His right hand.

He just wants me to follow His word. But I want to choose my own way. I want to go with the hand on the left. Releasing the obvious to God can sometimes be the hardest things to release.

The past three days I have written about our journey with Chick-fil-A. God obviously opened the doors for us to pursue this career. It would be easier to stay in Greensboro, surrounded by my family… there were a lot of times over the past two years where it seemed that pursuing something else would have been easier; more comfortable. But, sometimes God isn’t telling us to stay in our comfort zone. Sometimes, most of the time, the things God calls us to aren’t the easy things. They are the hard things… but those hard things will ultimately reap the greatest reward.

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

Leave a Reply

