Day Twelve: releasing control when I am impatient…

Standard

Sometimes I yell… sometimes I loose my cool.

I think most mothers can relate with their children throwing a fit right before you are heading out the door, or when they have a potty accident on the way to your destination and you forgot an extra pair of pants, or when they decide to have a temper tantrum in the middle of the drug store isle because they think nyquil is juice and they want to drink it… 🙂

As hard as I try to have patience, sometimes I loose my cool. I yell, I become frustrated and I can say things in moments of frustration that I wish I could take back.

Fortunately I know that love covers a multitude of sins.

1 Peter 4:8 “Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers a multitude of sins.”

Holland has started doing this thing where she is sitting in her chair and she looks at me and says, “stay right there… I need to hug you.” She will jump down and come over and squeeze me tightly and give me a kiss. It is the most precious thing in the world and it usually doesn’t matter if I have yelled at her that day or not. She does it regardless.

God gives me grace in the midst of my impatience. I know this doesn’t have a lot to do with releasing control… but it does have to do with giving my attitude over to him in the moments of frustration. And even when I screw it up He is there to cover me with His grace.

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

Leave a Reply

