Day Thirteen: Releasing control in Friendships

Standard

 

Sometimes I really dislike being a girl. Not because of all the “girl” stuff physically we have to endure (although that can be a pain) but mostly because girls sometimes have a hurtful way of doing relationships.

I don’t know how many women can relate to girls being mean starting as young as the age of four. I can even see it now with my three year old… cliques are beginning and they can be extremely hurtful.

The other day I was on Facebook looking at some pictures and I realized that I had been forgotten when several of my friends had planned a play-date. My stomach dropped and I just started to cry. It might have been an emotional time of the month :)… but it was still hurtful.

I had an incredibly hard time falling asleep that evening. I was hurt. I do not think it was because of that specific instance, but because being left out touched a nerve. I remembered when I was in fifth grade and I was not invited to the slumber party, when I would hear about parties that had happened over the weekend when I was in High School… and guess who was not there… me. I remembered conversations where I was the odd man out who did not know the inside jokes.

Being left out is not fun. It is hurtful, whether it is intentional or unintentional.

After I had a good cry and let myself feel the pain of being excluded I decided to turn back to the Truth of what God says about me.

God tells me that I am His child (Galatians 4:7, NIV) I am loved (John 15:9), I am God’s friend (John 15:15, NIV). This gave me the strength to know that I am not a failure because I was excluded… I am included in the Kingdom of God.

I am in a constant state of release. Releasing control… releasing relationships… releasing reputation.

I do not have it all together. God is teaching me that more and more every day.

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

Leave a Reply

