Day 15: Releasing control when I want to fight

Standard

Holland HATES to have her hair washed… so does Hudson. I think it is normal for a three and one year old to prefer to play in the bathtub as opposed to getting clean. But, nevertheless, they have to have their hair washed. Otherwise it would be gross. Even people with dreads have to put soap on there every once in a while.

But, my point is that: Holland fights me. She screams and wiggles around. As a result she has:
Gotten soap in her eyes
Slammed her head against the faucet
Fallen down in the tub
Made her bathtime miserable: all of these on several occasions.

I try and explain to her that if she would sit still, lean her head back and let me wash her it could be quick and fairly pain free.

But, she doesn’t listen. She fights… and as a result usually has a miserable time when it comes to washing her hair.

So, why don’t I learn? Why do I fight so much when it comes to God’s will for me and control over my life.

I don’t like a rule: I break it. I don’t want to be a good steward of my money: so I shop and buy things I don’t need. And the list goes on. These aren’t nessicarily the “big” things either, at least not for the world. But any form of disobedience and attempting to control on our part is big to God.

I mean, He did send His Son to die for all the “things” in our life. So, I don’t think there are big or small acts of disobedience/sin… they are all big to God; because they all separated us from Him.

I have to stop trying to control what is a justifiable sin and what is a big sin. There is no difference to God… sin, is sin, is sin. And God wants ALL of us… not for us to hold to the vices that we simply “can’t” release. He is faithful and will help us to release those sins and overcome them.

1 Corinthians 10:13

New International Version (NIV)

No temptation[a] has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted[b] beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted,[c] he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.”

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

Leave a Reply

