Day 17: God gave control to an evil man??

Standard

(This picture doesn’t have anything to do with my post… I just wanted to share my adorable son… isn’t he cute 🙂 )

Okay… so I am going to jump around on the verses a little bit. But, this one has been on my heart and my mind since reading:

Jeremiah 28:14
 “This is what the LORD Almighty, the God of Israel, says: I will put an iron yoke on the necks of all these nations to make them serve Nebuchadnezzar king of Babylon, and they will serve him. I will even give him control over the wild animals.’”

Context: Jeremiah was basically crapped on all of his life. He was a prophet of God and God’s people were constantly rejecting him and God. Jeremiah was brining the word of the Lord and no one wanted to hear it. In Jeremiah 28 he is confronting a false prophet. The chapter starts by the false prophet telling the people that the yoke of servitude to Babylon will be broken. But… later on in the 17-verse chapter we have the prophecy of Jeremiah (above).

The false prophet in this chapter wanted to bring good news… he wanted the people to be happy about what he was saying and he spoke lies. He told them they were going to be released from Babylon… because that is obviously what they wanted to hear. Jeremiah tells him in verse 15 “The Lord did not send you! You are making these people trust in a lie!”

Jeremiah brought Jerusalem the news that not only were they not going to be freed from the King of Babylon… they would serve him and he will have complete control over them even to the point of him controlling wild animals.

Why would God give control to someone who is not good? And He gave control over of His own people!

This verse speaks to me that God disciplines those He loves. He allowed Jerusalem to go through the horrible trials He did so that they would be brought back to Him.

He also allowed Jeremiah to go through so much hardship and pain for the sake of presenting Truth. And even through all of that Jeremiah penned these words:
Jeremiah 29:11 “I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you a hope and a future.”

I don’t have the strength of Jeremiah. I can’t understand why God allows control to be given over to bad people. But, I do know that God loves me and God has a plan for me. God loves His people and has a plan for them.

Remember…

God disciplines those He loves when we are doing wrong.

Proverbs 3:12
”because the LORD disciplines those he loves, as a father the son he delights in.”

God works for the good for those who love Him.

Romans 8:28
”And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

Leave a Reply

