Day 18: The earth is over whose dominion???

Standard

Next verse from the search ☺…

1 John 5:19
 We know that we are children of God, and that the whole world is under the control of the evil one.
1 John 5:18-20 (in Context) 1 John 5 (Whole Chapter)

Okay… so this verse is going to lead into all of the verses about self-control. I mean if the ruler of this earth is Satan, then we are going to need some major self-control. I believe that God is ruler over the universe… over all… but He gives Satan dominion here. Kind of like state vs. federal law: Federal law will always win but sometimes the states are left to deal with things on their own. God allows us free will and has allowed Satan to have control over some things. (Hey… I warned you that I am not a theologian)

But, in some strange way, reading 1 John 5:19 gives me comfort. God doesn’t steak claim to the world… he gave that over. He does claim to have overcome the world through Christ and the Holy Spirit.

1 John 4:4
 You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.

1 John 5:4
 for everyone born of God overcomes the world. This is the victory that has overcome the world, even our faith.

1 John 5:5
 Who is it that overcomes the world? Only the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God.

John 16:33
“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

I struggle with bitterness on a daily basis. I don’t know how to let go of the anger I have. But, I do know that God calls me to be self-controlled… which first means releasing full control to Him.

The next couple of days I am excited to talk about the verses that deal with self-control. I need to hear them… A LOT. I am a work in progress… I am slowly overcoming my anger towards people and towards God. But, God is gracious, faithful, merciful and forgiving. And He is ultimately in control ☺

Again… this picture has nothing to do with my post. Aren’t they cute? One of the few times they aren’t running around like crazy. Candy and ice cream are my friends.

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

Leave a Reply

