Day 21, 22 and 23

Standard

Oops!
I went to visit Dave this weekend while he is at Interim Manager training and ended up not having internet acess… it was amazing, by the way!! We had our first kid-free weekend since Hudson was born thanks to our dear friends, the Lineberrys and my parents… thanks guys!!

But, I do have a great book to suggest…

I listened to Jaycee Dugard’s book “A Stolen Life” on the way down and back to Atlanta. It is incredible. LONG story short: she was abducted as an eleven year old girl and held captive in the backyard of a rapist/kidnapper and his wife for 18 years. She fathered his two children and was controlled by him completely.

She is a phenomenal person. She doesn’t believe in God but you can tell she is searching for something. She talks about the soul and our connections to one another and her perseverance and vulnerablity are amazing.

As a counselor I found this book fascinating… I would definitely recommend. Warning: it is disturbing in parts, so if you do tend to experience secondary trauma I would not suggest reading the first part of the book.

She speaks about forgiveness and the importance of her learning to forgive in order that her anger towards her perpetrator would not control her. Such a biblical principal that we don’t always put into perspective… is there someone you need to forgive today?

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

Leave a Reply

