Day 28: Release and trust

Standard

My children are fearless bundles of energy. Hudson especially. He loves to go on the 5-9 year old playground equipment… in fact, he scoffs at the younger child equipment and hates the baby swing. He only wants to be in the big swing and go down the highest slide.

The other day we were at the park and he walked up to an opening and before I knew it one foot was going forward and he was letting himself drop. He looked at me and smiled. I ran as fast as I could and was able to catch him before he face planted from four feet up (which is REALLY high for my little man).

I was scared he was going to fall… but he didn’t seem to mind and it didn’t seem to phase him that he had just let himself freefall from more than three times his own height. He trusts me. He trusted that I would catch him even if he let himself freefall of the playground equipment.

When do I allow myself to freefall with God? Do I grasp onto the monkey bars, hold on to the rails and refuse to go down the slide just because I want to hang on to control of my life?

God has been teaching me about taking leaps of faith. Dave is about to finish up interim manager training and will either get an assignment or will come home and work until he gets an assignment.

We don’t know. We don’t know what is going to happen and that is scary. We could be moving next week or next month. Things are uncertain. But, in the uncertainty of this leap I know that God is there. He is faithful and He is trustworthy.

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

Leave a Reply

