Day 29: Releasing control…

Standard

Today I made pancakes for breakfast. I like to clean as I go and maintain control over the kitchen.

Holland had different plans for me. She has started to want to “help” every time she sees me baking. I don’t want to be a mean mom so I let her touch the measuring cup as I pour the milk. But, what am I afraid of? Why don’t I just let her help!? Holland loves to be with me. She loves to think she is helping… why don’t I just give that to her.

I was convicted today as my daughter was sitting there begging me to help her bake. I have to release control… not only for me but for her. I can’t allow myself to be held back by fear of a messy kitchen.

What will I regret more in a few weeks, a month, a year… that I let her make a mess or that I stifled her creativity and our time together?

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

2 responses »

  1. You will regret that the mess you let her make added on to all the other messes and got flour everywhere, including the carpet close to the kitchen and added to your insanity.

    Is it possible that letting your children help you cook just might push you over the edge of the insanity cliff? Most definitely.

    Sanity is what I lose when I let my kids help more than once every other month when it comes to cooking. It has to be a Saturday when I have something planned in the afternoon so I know my time with them is limited which increases my activity level. It’s like a mathematical equation.

    But, you go girl!

  2. HAHA! yeah.. I get you there. It is an every once in a while thing. But, if I had my way she would NEVER help… I am just trying to talk myself into every once in a while 🙂

Leave a Reply

