Patience

Standard

I have a type A personality… I like to have a plan, consistency, I like to know what is going to happen and that all fits in with control, and I guess I could do another full month on that topic 🙂

But… I think that patience fits in with releasing control SO much.

When I was 20 I worked at a camp called Beyond Malibu. Here I am :):

Beyond Malibu is a Young Life camp… but it isn’t a normal Young Life camp. It is a camp where kids come and go on week long hiking trips through the mountains of British Columbia. We use ice axes, biff bags, tents, backpacks… pack in pack out is the motto! All of the food is with you at the start. Beyond ain’t no RV camping trip, that is for sure.

I worked at base camp mostly doing the office work and laundry for the guides. Base camp consisted of several houses with no electricity, no running water and no toilets. (The kitchen did have a faucet and there was a non-heated shower). I didn’t shave my legs the entire summer if that gives you the idea about how cold the shower actually was.

The people at Beyond are/were incredible… I had never been around such a diverse group in my twenty years. I had the naieve concept that everyone had a plan, stuck to the plan and that life fell into place. It was here that I learned that life is not that clear cut or consistent. Many of the guides were older, the staff ranged in age from college to 50+.

It was here I learned about the seasons of life. I had never put much thought into this concept… that life had seasons. I thought of my life as a series of goals and accomplishments and that everything would run together and work out accordingly.

But, there is a time for everything:

Ecclesiastes 3

 1 There is a time for everything,

and a season for every activity under the heavens: 2 a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
3 a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
4 a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
5 a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
6 a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
7 a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
8 a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

The people with whom I had the pleasure of spending that summer taught me that life is full of seasons. They didn’t have things figured out… many of them spent seasons at beyond, seasons at another camp, seasons doing odd jobs: but they were always searching for God’s meaning in those seasons rather than looking at them as holding patterns.

That is the key!

I could have looked at these past two years as a holding pattern. I knew that God was taking us on a journey and I didn’t know what the end result would be. I still don’t know. As we enter into a season of going into the Interim Manager program I am diving in: FULLY.

I am having the patience to know that God has a plan but hopefully the wisdom to know that God is using each season. We could potentially be in another two years of transition. That is scary to me as someone with a type A personality. I want to know the plan, I like consistency. But, God is saying to me: TRUST ME IN THE SEASONS.

Right now I am just praying for patience to wait on the Lord. I am trusting that He has control of our lives and I know that as long as I am fully investing for His kingdom, no matter where we are, that He will bless that.

Thanks for letting me share what has been on my heart.

Oh, and enjoy more of the beauty of Beyond:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

Leave a Reply

