Link

So, we found out that corporate is putting the breaks on selection for Chick fil A Longmont and they are going to see what Dave does with the store. Talk about a stressful and indefinite interview! It is good because they aren’t interviewing anyone else, but it is stressful because it is a hands on, prove yourself then and there kind of situation. I have complete faith in Dave and I am very excited about where the future is going to take us ๐Ÿ™‚

But, with that being said, I was SO hoping to be settled by Fall… but it doesn’t look like that is going to happen for sure now. We will still be in corporate housing as long as Dave is in Interim Manager… which is fine, I was just praying that we could get settled into our own place; or at least our own rental place. I can live with not paying utilities and rent for another few months though ๐Ÿ™‚

This new update got me thinking… well, what if Longmont isn’t IT… what if we move again, how do I live while we are in Longmont with just the potential of staying? Then I thought about what it means to live an intentional life. Really nothing is guaranteed… jobs, friendships, housing, income even down to tomorrow: we aren’t guaranteed any of it. I work for an incredible organization called Inheritance of Hope. Here is a video about the organization:

Video about IOH

These families all have children under the age of 18 and one of the parents are struggling with a terminal illness. They are facing the reality of not being promised tomorrow in a very real sense. I have seen both sides of coping when meeting and engaging with the families… I have seen people embracing their illness like John Piper and his “Don’t waste your cancer” and I have seen it break families apart. I have no idea how I would respond… that is not a judgmental statement by any means… but it does challenge me to live intentionally while I am not struggling with such a difficult time; because I never know what tomorrow will bring.

Some of us are faced with tomorrow not being guaranteed in a very real way: like the families of IOH.

Some of us are faced with jobs not being guaranteed: like Dave and I right now.

Some of us are faced with life not being guaranteed: like my friends who just had a baby at 23 weeks.

BUT… I am going to embrace our situation as if we were going to live there forever. I want to live life to the fullest; I don’t want to look back and have regrets because I am scared that we might move and I might have to say good bye again. I want to embrace what God has for me; because I could miss out on some major blessings if I don’t.

Just wanted to share what was on my heart ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is a picture of us with Mickey at the last IOH retreat :). If you want to know more about IOH or know a family who would be a candidate for a retreat please let me know!

One response »

  1. Oh, Dana… I just love your honesty and your determined spirit to make the most of your days wherever you might be. You are an inspiration! We think of you guys often… and we are totally cheering you on from the sidelines! (I must admit, I think it is a bit funny that we are going through the whole unexpected baby #3 thing together. FAM didn’t work like I wanted it to either! :o) Know that we are thinking about you guys and praying for you! Love from Paducah!

Leave a Reply

