Community

Standard

I have recently been reading “A forty day journey with Dietrich Bonhoeffer”. I just love Bonhoeffer. He was an amazing man: did you know that he was hanged (or hung or whatever you are supposed to say) after the Valkyrie attempt on Hitler’s life because he was involved in a plot to kill him too? His biography is pretty amazing:

http://www.amazon.com/Bonhoeffer-Pastor-Martyr-Prophet-Spy/dp/1595552464

This is a man who was killed for something he believed in; he was sold out to the Lord and he understood the importance of community and his NEED for community in order to live a life like that.

Dave and I have been seeking after community since we got married. When we were accepted in the IM program we specifically prayed for community and opportunity; but always put the community first. We have been married for six and 1/2 years now and have had a lot of change in those years:

Six months in Westminster

Three years in Colorado Springs

Two and 1/2 years in Greensboro

Two months in Denver

Three months in Utah

Now in Longmont

Dave and I have consistently said: we are going to invest where we are BUT there are things you just can’t do when you know that your stay is temporary. You can’t commit to teaching Sunday School or hosting a life group in your tiny apartment (or your parent’s house). You can’t cook meals for people if you live with someone who limits your access to the kitchen. You can’t watch other people’s children for them if you live with your parents or if you aren’t living somewhere long enough to build trust with people 🙂

I am SO tired of the BUT. However, my post about living intentionally was written before I had read about community for the past week. I think God is trying to tell me something. I know that I am made for community I am made to invest in others.

Dave and I are so thankful for the community we do have and the communities we have been blessed with in our various locations. We pray for consistent and long-term community and hope that is in our near-future!

 

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

Leave a Reply

