Anxiety

Standard

Philippians 4:6

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

God brought this scripture to mind tonight. I have been VERY anxious about the future. I don’t want to move again, I mean I DON’T want to move again. I want to be settled, to have a community, to have a set job for Dave, to have a preschool for the kids, to…. (there are SO many things).

However, there have been so many things recently that have put my situation into perspective. My friends who have micro-preemie babies, my friend who lost her sister in an act of violence, the fires in Colorado, the shooting in Aurora, deaths of children…

But, the beauty of having a personal God is that He still cares about what is important to me in the midst of harder situations going on with people around me. My problems are not even close to as big as the ones listed above… but that doesn’t make them less important to God, I have to remember that.

I think the balance lies in remembering others while still presenting requests of my own to the Lord. I have been convicted that I need to present all of my requests and worries to Him and He WILL give me a peace. But, at the same time I have to keep others in prayer as well. We are commanded to pray for one another throughout scripture and scripture is filled with the giants of the Bible lifting others in prayer. 

Praying for others keeps my issues in perspective 🙂 If you would like prayer for something please let me know… I want to be praying for others and would appreciate your prayer as well.

Please pray that God would open the doors for Longmont CFA. We still feel a peace that this is where we are supposed to be. We honestly have no idea what is going on with the process. We know that God has brought us this far… if you read my posts dating back in October I was worried about Dave getting into the IM program and honestly he could have been easily rejected due to lack of experience: but he wasn’t. We could have been placed somewhere other than Aurora in January and never learned about Longmont: but we weren’t. God took us to Utah where we pursued Longmont further and they told us we would be placed there: but we were. We thought that we were going to get the store by August: but that is not going to happen. God has opened doors and it is NOT a coincidence that we are here. I am typing all of this to remind myself of that. God has opened the doors and if He wants to He will continue to open doors: it won’t be because of anything that we do. He is in control.

I have seen a lot of posts about prayer being a waste of time in regards to the Aurora shooting. This makes me SO sad for those who truly believe it. Prayer has been the one thing that has gotten me through this process. Dave and I praying together, praying with and for others, praying by myself. Knowing that the God of the universe hears me… it is pretty amazing.

The God of the universe hears when I call on Him. The God of the Universe. again, amazing.

I guess I don’t have to be anxious 🙂

Please pray with Dave and me that we would get to stay in Longmont… we love it here:

Image 

 

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

One response »

  1. I think the whole “but other people’s lives are harder” is a trick of the adversary. I will tell myself that to say, oh why should I trouble Him about that? I heard something really cool though. Because God is omniscient He has the ability to treat each one of His children as if he or she is His only child. So, in God’s eyes, he deals with me so closely as if I am His only child and can give me all the time and attention He has. Keeping that in perspective helps me remember, He is there, He knows my situation, He is aware of me, I’m never out of His mind. We are truly blessed to know He cares!

    Also, it bothers me when bad things happen and people say because of it, “God isn’t there because that happened!” It’s like, horrible things have been happening since the beginning of time, and you felt God when they were happening to other people, why when it happens to you does that void his existence?

Leave a Reply

