Sometimes…

Standard

God answers prayer with a no. 

I really dislike that song by Garth Brooks, the one about unanswered prayer. God answers prayer, just sometimes the answer isn’t what we want or what we were praying for. 

We are in that boat right now. Dave had a talk with a guy from corporate first who gave him information I thought was encouraging… then he met with his business consultant. He told him that they were seriously interviewing someone else for the Longmont CFA, a guy from Dallas wants the store; he is willing to leave a higher volume unit to come to Longmont… don’t know why. So, Dave will most likely not get it.

I am pretty crushed to say the least. Dave took today off work to spend with me because I am so upset. Dave was very encouraged by the conversation and was given the feedback that he will be an excellent operator, hopefully of a free standing unit, just not right now. They want to see more from him but want to get someone in Longmont permanently. 

I don’t really understand the thought process and I don’t understand how something that seemed so perfect and so from God just isn’t working out. It is a mystery to me.

I am heartbroken because I wanted to have Holland in preschool, I wanted them to make friends, I want to have our baby near family. When I go into labor who do we call? I feel like everything I had envisioned for our future in Colorado is just gone right now. 

The business consultant said he wanted Dave in Colorado… he wants him to be here eventually. There are over 12 grand openings set to open within the next year. So… patience, patience is my goal right now. I have to make the best of wherever we are, release control (again) and trust that Longmont would have been good but God obviously is having us wait for His best.

Thank you for your prayers in this process. It has been a challenging roller coaster to say the least. I think the hardest part has been the expectations… thinking the store was going to be ours and having to change that completely, overnight. But at least we have an answer and can move on to the next thing: I am grateful for that…

I am grateful for A LOT. I am thankful for the lessons and the way I can already look back and see God’s provision, I am just looking forward to seeing how this situation He is going to use this situation: even though it is really hard right now. 

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

3 responses »

  1. I love you guys. Your heart is in the right place Dana. I’ll come visit 😉 no matter where you are. We wait for God’s best. And pray, we are praying lots these days huh? Can’t wait to see you tomorrow and give you a big hug.

  2. Dana, I can only imagine the disappointment. We will continue to pray and that for right now God’s Peace will just swarm over you, Dave and the children. We love you guys!!! We are sending big hugs as well.

  3. Dana, that totally stinks! I am so sorry!!!! The only thing that helped me feel better when something kind of like that happened to us. It was at the end of John in chapter 21 where they were fishing all night and caught nothing. Jesus stood at the shore and said, “Cast the net on the right side of the ship, and ye shall find. They cast therefore, and now they were not able to draw it for the multitude of fishes.” Then they recognized Jesus as the Lord. The whole point that was brought to me was that He knows where He wants us to go because He’ll direct us to where we can be a lot more successful. But it is still sooooo frustrating, and I have to remind myself a lot that God is guiding us to where we’ll get more fish, and it’s for some better purpose in the end. If only the “end” will be sooner (like BEFORE you have the baby!) than later.

Leave a Reply

