When things are different than you planned…

Standard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

SO I know it has been FOREVER since I posted on here. I thought I would wait three days before I gave birth and three weeks after we moved to Utah since things have slowed down so much for us 😉

But, after we didn’t get Longmont it took me a while to feel normal again. I was a little depressed and had to adjust my expectations completely for what our life was going to look like. God has taught me so much about putting my trust in HIM and not my circumstances. I have also had a lot of adjustments to my expectations about life in general. How nothing is certain, nothing is guaranteed and God gives us what we can handle and He is ultimately in control.

Well, in the midst of our CFA journey I had an interesting parent teacher conference with Holland’s pre-k teacher at the end of October. She told me that she had some concerns about Holland. ::not following directions, not participating with the rest of the class, falling behind academically etc…

I was kind of shocked because Holland has always been ahead of the curve academically. She also has been in preschool since she was 18 months old, so she knows how to participate in the classroom setting. However, the things her teacher was seeing were also showing up at home: just on a smaller scale. ::Not paying attention, having to be told the same thing OVER AND OVER, displaying aggression (almost uncontrolled) toward her brother, being in her own world consistently

So, I thought that it was best that we have her evaluated by a psychologist. She went at the end of November and sure enough, when we had our meeting with him to discuss the outcome Holland has full blown ADHD.

She not only met the criteria in the classroom setting, at home and for the evaluation she also met the criteria on a test given to thousands of other four year old girls that tests attention disorders. He said it was an incredibly difficult test to qualify a child but Holland easily met the criteria.

So… what does this mean for us? Well… it means that I will have to adjust my expectations of having a child that will sit with me and play certain games and having a child that will be “easy” in school.

It also means that I get to raise a creative, empathetic, kind, think-outside-the-box, crazy imagination, full of life (and the list goes on) little girl.

On the recommendation of a dear friend who has adult ADD I started reading “Driven to Distraction” and it has helped me a lot with an understanding of how to best be a support to Holland. Some very influential and creative people have ADD/ADHD and most of their stories start with a great support system and empathy and understanding for the different way their brain works.

I want Holland to have my full empathy and understanding… raising her will come with its challenges and be more work than I was probably planning on :), but I believe that she will blossom and be such an amazing contributor to society when given the chance to succeed in her own way.

It isn’t what I would have planned but I am thankful for this wild little girl: I love her so much 🙂

About tappytime

This blog is about lessons I am learning on a daily basis. I am a stay at home mom, so most of the lessons I learn from my children. Matthew 21:16 "'Do you hear what these children are saying?' they asked him. 'Yes,' replied Jesus, 'have you never read, '"from the lips of children and infants you, Lord, have called forth your praise'?"" God teaches us things in all different ways... These are my reflections on those lessons.

One response »

  1. Oh, Dana… What a full month it has been for you! I’m glad for your update; you continue to amaze me with your positive perspective and determination in the midst of challenge and the unknown. Just so you know, we fell in love with Holland after such a short time- what a bright, creative, funny soul she is! AND, you must also know that I think Holland has truly been blessed with an amazing mama- you are exactly what she needs to grow and thrive!

    We are still rooting for you… in many areas! ;o)

Leave a Reply

